The Religious Right, Abortion, Shortwave Radio, the NRLC and Terry Schiavo

About 12:30 this morning, I put on my shortwave radio. After searching for the BBC (they always seem to have interesting perspectives on the US Markets…), I came across the “Pro-Life Perspective”–airing on several stations of the shortwave dial. Now, it’s no secret that most of the shows you can hear in English on Shortwave that early in the morning are Religious. Evidentally the “Pro-Life Perspective” has been around for twenty years…listening to the host of the show (presumably someone in the National Right to Life Organization) bash those in congress–mostly the “liberals” (why is liberal such a forbidden word? I’m a liberal and proud of it)–bashing Senator Harry Reid, the Democratic Majority Leader in the Senate, who is pro-life. I googled the “Pro-Life Perspective”–and it brought me to the National Right to Life Organization. I’m pro-choice–I believe that I should have no say in what a woman does with her child–so naturally I was shaking my head in disbelief throughout the broadcast. I came across their website–and among the graphic abortion diagrams, and numerous pages of attacks (yes, still) on the Kerry-Edwards record and the promise of Stem Cell Research…the front page gave instructions on how to save Tery Schiavo.I’m sure you know Shiavo’s story…in 1990, her heart stopped beating due to an eating disorder–and she is currently being kept alive artificially. While she never left instructions, her husband claims she would not want to be kept alive by tubes. Yesterday the Courts struck down the law preventing Terry’s husband from pulling the tube–I can tell you that I would not want to be kept alive artificially. If this is what Terry and her husband spoke about years ago, and Terry didnt’ want to be kept alive under circumstances like these–I say, let her husband take her off the machine. The National Right to Life Group has no right to interfere–and neither do we. I guess I’m going to take advantage of this blog to rant about the news and my personal views more often–not just report it.(I know the “full paragraph” form is confusing–but that’s a blog for you)

Leave a Reply

