Carter: Let’s Fund Terrorists!

Wow. I’m disgusted. As you’ll see in the coming weeks, I’m moving away from the left. I still consider myself a Democrat — a moderate to conservative Democrat.

I’m really disgusted.

I was always a Jimmy Carter fan. Seriously. I think, all things considered, he wasn’t the worst President we’ve ever seen. I think he’s the best ex-President we’ve ever seen. In fact, I would put him in my top ten Presidents, if not judging accomplishments while in office (think about it…George Washington was a great leader, but what did he do as President?).

Yesterday, Hamas gained control of the PLO. Carter today said that he believed “the elections were completely honest, completely fair, completely safe and without violence.” Fine, Jimmy, you can say that. But, Jimmy kept talking:

The Palestinian Government is destitute, and in desperate financial straits. I hope that support for the new government will be forthcoming.

Wait…did Jimmy just say what I thought he said? He wants to aid a terrorist government? Now, I’ve always defended Carter — but you might say we’ve had a “falling out”. You know, if you’ve been reading BSO for a while, that I am a strong supporter of Israel, and strongly believe that there is no need for a new Palestinian State. Yes, I said new. In 1948, Palestine was carved into Israel for the Jews, and Jordan for the Palestinians. There is no need for a new Palestinian state. I won’t support it, can’t support it.

I just lost a lot of respect for Jimmy Carter.
Forty-four states made a good decision in 1980.
(I’m still not a Reagan fan…remember John Anderson was an alternative.)

For more: Carter calls for funding Palestinians

3 Responses to Carter: Let’s Fund Terrorists!

  1. Rachel says:

    If Palestine stopped the terrorism, I would think about funding them.

    They’re just not ready for money.

  2. Ryan Budd says:

    Ben,
    I think you’re missing the point. The Palestinians elected Hamas because they think they are their LAST CHANCE!
    Palestine was taken over by the Jews, and brutally and illegally they have abused the rights of the Palestinian people.
    The Tel-Aviv university is built on top of a village ETHNICALLY CLEANSED for that purpose.
    That is how the Israeli government acts. They are racist, fascist, and oppressive. And they’re more respectiable than we are, because they admit it.
    It is the fault of the WEST that the Palestinians are terrorists. They have NOTHING TO LIVE FOR, and in the Qu’ran promises eternal paradise for martyrs. WHY NOT BLOW YOURSELF UP in such a situation.
    Honsestly Ben, I used to defend and support you, too.
    Consider this our falling-out.

  3. Ben says:

    Ryan,

    Let me refer you to the comments in regard to Rachel’s 1/6 post “To Clear Up Any Misunderstanding About My Views” (a response to Tobin’s comments):

    Israel has paid for nationhood by having 2/3 of it’s European population wiped out while the so-called civilations and nations stood by, and didn’t lift a finger. The Jewish people have been driven out of EVERY land in which they tried to become a part of the population…from Poland, from France…from England, and from Spain. Remember the Inquisition? The land of Israel was promised on Mt. Sinai to Moses when he said “I will make of thee a great nation, a covenant people, a light among the nations.” Yes, Israel should be held to a high moral standard, but it’s not greed that makes us want to hold on to our land…it’s survival.

    Respond to that.
    And to BSO Readers: Ryan may soon be joining the BSO list of contributors.

Leave a Reply

