Iran: The Last Straw

UPDATE 5/20…the Iranian bill described in this article may not be true. I still feel Iran needs to be dealt with, soon.
Alright. I’ve had it. I was always in favor of perhaps resolving our problems with Iran diplomatically, but I’ve changed my mind. I don’t care what we have to do, Mahmoud Ahmadinejad needs to go — and I don’t care what sacrifices have to be made to do it.

Why, you ask?

From the Jerusalem Post online:

A new dress-code law reportedly passed in Iran this past week mandates the government to make sure that religious minorities – Christians, Jews and Zoroastrians – will have to adopt distinct colour schemes to make them identifiable in public, the Canadian National Post reported on Friday.

Under the new law, which still awaits final approval from Iran’s supreme leader Ayatollah Ali Khamenei, Jews will have to wear a yellow band on their exterior in public, while Christians will be required to don red ones.

Mahmoud Ahmadinejad is doing everything he can do become the next Adolf Hitler. World War II Germany forced Jews to wear yellow stars, for identification.

Internal Security Minister Avi Dichter responded to the new law Friday
night, saying, “Whoever makes Jews anywhere wear the yellow star again, will
find themselves in a coffin draped in black.” (JPost)

According to the Post, the bands are to prevent Muslims from becoming “unclean” by shaking the hands of non-Muslims. Does that seem even slightly logical to you? It’s pretty damn clear that it’s just the next of Ahmadinejad’s efforts to become the next Hitler. We all know that the Jews will be targeted, be it by the Government or by Civilians. Heck, Christians will too.

The United States needs to come to the plate– hell, Olmert is coming to Washington next week.

I want to make this clear: I cannot support any Democrat in 2008 who does not support taking action regarding Iran. I mean it. Hold me to it, if you’d like.

I know yesterday, left-wing icon Cindy Sheehan delivered a petition to the White House, to stay out of Iran. I know ultra-liberals will follow her lead. But let’s not forget that Sheehan has made many anti-Israel comments.

For those who say we don’t have the troops, perhaps this is a solution to the immigration plan…a “spend four years with the US military, earn citizenship”… type of thing.

Also for those who are against taking care of Iran, here’s some food for thought:

First they came for the Jews
and I did not speak out
because I was not a Jew.
Then they came for the Communists
and I did not speak out
because I was not a Communist.
Then they came for the trade unionists
and I did not speak out
because I was not a trade unionist.
Then they came for me
and there was no one left
to speak out for me.

– Pastor Martin Niemöller

BSO UPDATE: As far as slow updates are concerned, keep in mind that this blog is entirely maintained by students who are spending time wrapping up the school year. We have several new bloggers joining, so expect frequent commentary on foreign and domestic policy issues in the coming weeks.

Leave a Reply

