Feingold 2008


There are only 1,193 days until election day, 2008. Time to panic? No, not yet. Aside from the fact that no one has officially declared, and only a few have made their intentions clear yet, and unless Barbara Boxer, George Mitchell, or Gary Hart decide to run, then I’m definitely supporting Senator Russ Feingold (WI) for President in 2008. (Yeah, I like Barack, but I don’t think he’s ready for ’08, and his anti-Dean comments have alientated me, a bit).

So, why Feingold, after I’ve been advocating for evan Bayh for nearly nine months? Russ Feingold has been standing up for the greater good–Feingold was the only Senator to vote against the USA PATRIOT Act.

Bayh (as well as Joe Biden) voted for the bankruptcy bill, while Feingold voted against. Plus, Bayh is a little too conservative for me. On an online quiz dealing with 100 Senate Incumbents, I most agreed with Barbara Boxer, followed by Mark Dayton (MN, retiring), and in third Russ Feingold. Bayh was much further down the list.

What about the electoral scenarios? If Feingold picks a moderate Democrat from a Red or Swing State, there won’t be an issue. Feingold will get tons of criticism from the religious right, for being divorced twice, and because he happens to be Jewish. Feingold could carry Iowa, and if he goes with someone like Bayh, he probably could carry Indiana.

And if those three names declare, I’m not saying I won’t support Feingold. I’d have to consider any others. But, on my list, Boxer is #1.

Hell, I’ll give anyone a fair shot–I just know I’m voting Democrat in 2008.

9 Responses to Feingold 2008

  1. Ryan Budd says:

    Hey Ben,
    Im like the idea of Feingold standing up for rights and everything, but he can’t win, BECAUSE he voted against the Patriot Act. Sorry to break it to you, but the Republicans would have a field day. Me, I say Hillary Clinton. The Repubs can’t touch her, because they’d be afraid to made insinuations against her gender, and she’s liberal and string-minded enough to turn this country around from the pit it’s headed to.

  2. Ben says:

    Hillary CANNOT win — she’s a Northeast Liberal. We need a midwestern candidate — and Russ is the darkhorse.

  3. Don Gobeil says:

    Ben, I agree with Ryan. HE CAN’T WIN. You risk becoming irrelevent if you continue to support fringe candidates,

  4. Ben says:

    Well, if not a midwesterner with great charisma, who do we run?

  5. Don Gobeil says:

    That’s the point, Ben. The Democrats right now can’t fill the qualification gap. That’s what saddens me.

    I’m on a team that’s looking for a coach.

  6. Chris says:

    I know you SAY you’re voting Democratic, but what if McCain runs?

  7. Hannah says:

    I really couldn’t support Feingold any more than I do already. He spoke at my school (I am from Wisconsin), and I was very impressed with what he had to say. As for the whole Patriot Act scenario, perhaps once the public discovers what was really contained in the Patriot Act, they will be more appreciative that Feingold had the guts to vote against it!

  8. Ben says:

    If John McCain runs, I will not support him. While I admire Senator McCain, and believe he is a man of convictions, I disagree too much with him politically.

    Last Night, I saw Biden on the Daily Show who said if he ran against McCain, he’d be happy with whoever won. If McCain won, I could live with it. In fact, if McCain ran with a Dem (as VP), I’d be psyched. I was for Kerry-McCain, and have a Kerry-McCain button I got at the Maine Democratic Convention. He is probably the only Republican I actually like, and I did support him in the Primaries in 2000. As I’ve said, I’ll carefully look at both sides in 2008, but I intend 100% to vote Democrat.

    I agree with Hannah–if only the public knew what was contained in the document, Feingold would no doubt be the nominee, and our next President.

  9. Ryan Budd says:

    I think if the Democrats play up how much of a violation of civil rights the Patriot Act is, then talk about how much of a righteous defender of our rights Feingold was by voting against it, you might see him have an advantage. And he MIHGT get the midwest, but I think they’re too conservative.
    You’re right about the NE liberal thing – Hill can’t win. Unfortunately, no offense meant, but this country won’t vote for a woman. I personally would, but I’m not the country.

Leave a comment